Martin Hopley
By

If ever a product lived up to its name then the Volvik Vivid golf ball is it.

Volvik Vivid Golf Ball

Compared to the Volvik S4, the unique matte finish and vibrant colours give this the appearance of a ball without dimples, but pick it up and you can feel them there.

Volvik Vivid Golf Ball

With a choice of green, orange and red amongst others you are not going to miss them, or be missed on the course, or hopefully lose them. However is there more to this than clashes with the eye?

Volvik Vivid Golf Ball

With the putter the Vivid has a soft sound and feel, but combines it with a degree of firmness that gives a little bit more feedback than other balls in this sector.

On chips especially it sat down quite quickly and the control was there, so for a mid-priced ball I thought the overall performance was good.

Volvik say that this is a mid to high spinning ball and the data from GC2 backed this up, with the driver spin being about the same as a Pro V1x, but the softer feel losing a few yards at around 100mph swing speed.

Volvik Vivid Golf Ball

To be fair Volvik claim that this ball will suit 70-90 mph swing speeds and if you have read our guide to soft golf balls you will know that slower swingers should get more out of a softer compression ball as it deforms less at impact.

Distances with the 7-iron were similar to Pro V1x and longer than the premium Volvik S4 thanks to that lower spin, so you would just need to be careful and ensure that it would stop in time on the green with your approaches.

Volvik Vivid Golf Ball

Overall I have to say that I liked the Volvik Vivid in performance terms and for mid to slow swing speed players who want control around the greens then this could be an option.

Volvik Vivid Golf Ball

It is reasonably priced too, but the real buying decision is whether you want a ball that acts like a homing beacon or not, because when it comes to the Vivid, it's not a black and white choice.

Golfalot Rating: 4 stars
Share:

Picture

Volvik Vivid Golf Ball

Volvik Vivid Golf Ball - Product Details

UK LaunchApril 2017
UK Launch RRP£39.99
USA LaunchApril 2017
USA Launch RRP$29.99
Handicap Range
Low
High
GolferMens, Women
Ball Construction3-Piece
SpinMedium
Ball FeelMedium
Colour OptionsWhite, Yellow, Green, Red, Orange, Pink
Quantities12
Manufacturer's WebsiteVolvik Website

User Reviews

Carolyn October 2017
October 2017

Volvik was recommend on the golf channel. I needed some new golf balls and was able to purchase them. I really like the design of these golfballs and the distance achieved from from the fairway to the green. Also the balls are easy to spot on the course. Like the colors too! Highly recommend.

Jk
October 2017

The biggest problem I have with the Volvik is the distance it goes off the tee. Where before with the Pro V, I could expect it to go only so far, especially this one particular par 4 where I play. There is a ditch running across the fairway at around 250 yards and with the Titleist it's always was a bit short of the ditch. With the Volvik, I go in the ditch. Hello three wood on this hole from now on. I would say, off the tee, I get 15 yards extra with this ball. It really goes! Jim

Dinger Bell
September 2017

I switch my ball around a fair bit, in the search of a ball that suits my swing and game. I switch my balls regularly from Z Star/ ProV1x/NXT Tour/AD333x and have just started playing Volvik Vivids over the last week. I'm simply amazed by the added distance and reduction in dispersal of the tee and with 3 wood/long irons. My 4 ball partners seem to think I've added 20 yards off the tee. I'm 48 yrs old, 17 hcp with a swing speed of around 100mph driver/3wood (dependant on the night before!!).

I feel confident off the tee now, in the knowledge that I will hit 9 out 10 fairways with my 3 wood. Irons have also added distance circa 15 yards.

A noticeable difference in feel with the irons, particurlary if its not flushed out of the sweet spot, it will feel firmer. That said with the added distance and reduction in dispersal of the tee (generally a fader of the tee), I'm not comepensating, striking the ball consitantly and longer and straighter off the tee.

Great price, and easy to spot now Autumn is upon us. I'll be sticking with these ball for the foreseeable future - working great for me. I challenge anyone not to achieve a noticeable difference in distance, compromise is the firmness.

Bill Anderson
September 2017

I bought a dozen of the Vivid Reds, and love their feel and performance,....LONG! They show up like a neon light on the fairway and even a long way off on the green my 71 year old eyes spot them quickly. I will play these from now on.

Rusty
September 2017

I started playing Vivid last year and I am 8-10 yards longer from my 8 iron through all my wedges. Have had to adjust down 1 club to justify. I'm 69 yrs old and play to a 10 hadicap. Will not play any other ball from now on. Love them.

JP
August 2017

Bought them as a joke because of the colours. Will keep playing them due to performance. I used to play Pro V 1's. I hit these 1 club farther with my irons. Driver distance is about the same. My driver swing speed is around 95. Nothing beats seeing a bright red ball screaming down the fairway!

Michel C.
August 2017

Good feel, farther distance and less fade.

The Hammer from Ohio
August 2017

Highly recommend.

Jim Pike
July 2017

What can I say, I play off 3 and thought up for a laugh, not laughing now, got given one to try, by my local pro at Caressgreen golf club Kendal, First tee up hill 305 yards, 10 yards off the green easy chip, great feel good amount of spin, 2 foot putt, did the short six, next hole 170 to flag, 8 iron to 6 feet, great feel off the club into a 12 mph wind, I would say it gave me 20 years off the tee with driver and up one club with irons 10-15 yard gain, now for the bad point, I used the blue vivid, could not see the ball after 100 yards in the air, and had to search for it on the green upto 30yards away, will try another colour this week. Will review again after a full round in ok weather .

Ricky Samuel
July 2017

One of my favorite balls to play, feels great off all clubs. As good as Titleist. Super viability, yellow really stands out. You'll love this ball.

Stu
July 2017

I'm a 10 handicap. Used to be much better. Play the ProV1x. Tried a yellow-green Volvik for kicks. It was remarkable, frankly. I could really see the ball and made fantastic contact. The only problem was that it traveled about 10 yards further than I am used to and I was over the green on numerous holes. Super easy to find with those errant shots. I'm going to buy a sleeve and give it a shot as my new ball of choice.

paul r-h
June 2017

I used these Vivid balls in Red, Pink and Green and the feel of them is good. They give the impression of a soft ball and achieve the length I would expect. The only issue believe it or not, "they look great in the air" as once they hit the ground or green from a distance of say over 150 yards they are hard to watch and I often lost sight of them around the greens. Once found they chip and putt well.

GT
June 2017

20 handicap 50 yr old golfer been playing 2 yrs. Volvik flew as well as Pro V1 for me. Different feel putting. Didn't stop me shooting a 44 on one of New Zealand's premier courses back nine. Love the feeling of walking to your ball as it stands out amazingly. Also helps for those shots to the rough.

Write a Review

Facebook Comments