Martin Hopley
By

The Nike SQ Dymo² STR8-Fit is the adjustable version of the standard Nike SQ Dymo² driver.

Nike have been at the forefront of the square driver market for some time now and every version is improving. This is definitely one of the best sounding square drivers we have tested and the feel right across the face was very good too.

The trajectory was not as high as some square drivers, which tend to go higher due to the extra backspin they put on.

However the trajectory of the Nike SQ Dymo² STR8-Fit driver was pretty good and although it did not go as far as the standard Nike SQ Dymo driver, it was a little more forgiving and straighter.

The STR8-Fit system is the best adjustable driver mechanism we have tired so far as it changes the angle of the clubhead at impact to change the shape of shot. Nike say the maximum difference in their tests is 42 yards, so there is plenty of scope for movement.

The new design of shaft and grip means that there is no 'spine' to either, which is a impressive technical achievement, so turning the shaft keeps the performance characteristics of the Nike SQ Dymo² STR8-Fit driver consistent.

If you really have a problem with drivers then this could be the answer as not only has it got the square face, but the adjustability should enable you to straighten out even the worst fade or draw a bit more.

Golfalot Rating: 5 stars
Overall Rating - 4 stars:
More from Nike
Share:

Videos

Picture

Nike SQ Dymo2 STR8-Fit Driver

Nike SQ Dymo2 STR8-Fit Driver - Product Details

Launch UK01 April 2009
Launch USA01 April 2009
Handicap Range
Low
High
GolferMens
Hand AvailabilityLeft, Right
Left Handed Lofts8.5°, 9.5°, 10.5°, 11.5°
Right Handed Lofts8.5°, 9.5°, 10.5°, 11.5°
MaterialTitanium
Shaft TypesGraphite
Shaft FlexX Stiff, Stiff, Regular
Manufacturer's WebsiteNike Website

User Reviews

CReid
March 2009

I had hopes for the Nike SQ Dymo2 Str8 Fit because I really liked the SQ offerings. The adjustment system is not only easy to use but also makes a difference to your drives which offers evidence that this new trend in club design is moving beyond simple gimmickry and beginning to offer golfers real options. I felt the bold, dark colour scheme was much more suited to the Square model although it was still quite clunky and chunky.

The model I tried was fitted with a stiff shaft which is not ideal for my slower swing speed. Because of that my swing and the impact with the ball was far less comfortable than I would expect from a Nike SQ. Despite all that the ball still travelled a distance that was, if not awe inspiring, certainly not disheartening and although not every shot was dead straight the wayward shots certainly made more of an effort to stay on line than some of my recent drives!

I also found an extra bit of consistency with the Square version than I did with the normal club and although I have shied away from square models in the past more evidence like that would maybe persuade me in the future. All in all I expected more but with the right shaft I think this could be a real weapon in the bag.

James
March 2009

I was excited to try out this club and although I was impressed with the ease of altering both lie and face angle to influence the shot I must say this driver is not for me. To me the squared off head looks clumsy behind the ball although I can see how it could give more confidence to some players and I found the ball flight, in terms of penetration, and sound a little disappointing and overall the club seemed to lack a bit of feel and performance for a club at this end of the market. Saying that it was easy to adjust and the set up options are impressive and they did effect ball flight. If you are a lover of Nike drivers then give it a try as it may be for you.

Write a Review

Sign In or Register to post a review.

Media Reviews

Today's Golfer
June 2009
Eight different settings..all our guys impressed with theory.
Golf Monthly
May 2009
A real improvement..high straight flight with no struggle.
Golf Monthly
February 2009
Hugely impressed..superb model..clear difference in flight.
Today's Golfer
November 2008
It really worked..much more stylish..it sounds strange.

Facebook Comments