Martin Hopley
By

The Cleveland Mashie hybrid utility club comes with a 59 gram Miyazaki shaft which is quite light for a hybrid but the design maintains its stiffness and does seem to deliver a faster swing speed.

We really liked the deep wide club heads that Cleveland hybrids have and were pleased to see this continued in the Mashie.

Compared to the DST hybrid, the Mashie has a little more offset and a deeper head front to back so it is verging on a mini-fairway, if you like your hybrids like that.

However the Gliderail sole design will get you out of places that a fairway won’t and the higher flight will help those looking for long iron replacements.

Aimed at mid to high handicappers we think this is a very competent club and we are glad to see Cleveland offering a different ‘retro-raw’ finish like metal woods of old.

Love the sock headcover too.

Golfalot Rating: 4 stars
Overall Rating - 5 stars:
More from Cleveland
Share:

Picture

Cleveland Mashie Hybrid

Cleveland Mashie Hybrid - Product Details

Launch UK01 December 2010
Launch USA01 December 2010
Handicap Range
Low
High
GolferMens
Hand AvailabilityLeft, Right
MaterialSteel
Shaft TypesSteel
Shaft FlexX Stiff, Stiff, Regular, Light
Manufacturer's WebsiteCleveland Website

User Reviews

Alan Erickson
June 2011

Cleveland has a winner here. A simple club with very dramatic results. I have tried just about every hybrid there is and this one stands out. If you get a chance to watch the infomercial, do so. What they say is true. I'm just a fair golfer but this club definitely gives me an edge. I know that anyone with a handicap of 12 and higher will benefit with the Cleveland Mashie.

KennyF
February 2011

I have been looking for new utility clubs for a while and have now found the ones I want. The head is slightly different from the majority of utilities but great to look down on and fills you with so much confidence you are going to hit great shot after great shot. I tried a 20.5 degree with stiff Miyazaki shaft and it is just brilliant. Hitting into a wind at the driving range the flight was great, I thought it might balloon a bit into the wind but it has a nice penatrating flight for a 20.5 degree loft, great distance too. I'd say I was hitting it about 4 iron distance but so much easier to hit and feels so solid when you get one right out the middle. If you are after a new utility or 2, try the Cleveland Mashie.

Brad Blair
December 2010

As a fairly outspoken hybrid-skeptic, I was not expecting much whilst hitting this on the range. But of course, it delivered. The look of the clubhead will not be for everyone and my first impression was that it looked like a love-child of an old Titleist PT 3 Wood and a first generation TM Rescue. But the straightline clubface and Miyasaki shaft produced some very consistant and impressive ball flights. Didn't take much to get the ball in the air and the whilst it was easy to manovre, I didn't feel in danger of losing a ball left or right in the air. Definitely should be on your shortlist if you are looking for a hybrid/utility.

Write a Review

Sign In or Register to post a review.

Media Reviews

Today's Golfer
August 2011
Light shaft, forgiving..little prone to hitting it left
Golf Monthly
April 2011
Extremely versatile hybrid..some will dislike the retro finish
Golf World
March 2011
Simple but effective..has surprisingly good feel and performance

Facebook Comments