Martin Hopley
By

The TaylorMade RBZ RocketBallz Driver succeeds the Burner Superfast 2.0 driver and the standard version is a lot better. At address it has a more rounded head and it sits behind the ball very nicely and the white head/black face colour scheme makes it very easy to align.

Thankfully TaylorMade have reduced the length of the shaft by half an inch to 46 inches so even though it feels long, it is much more manageable and that will mean more accuracy.

It also means less weight and the combination of a light head, shaft and grip makes this is a light club at under 300 grams. The lie is also down a degree and a half and combined with the shorter shaft length you feel much more comofrtable over the ball.

On the course the RocketBallz Driver felt and sounded very good and the ball flight was a little on the high side. However using the adjustable hosel on the RBZ driver we were able to take some loft off to reduce the height, although this did change the lie angle of the club, but that was OK.

The standard Matrix X-Con 5 shaft is better than recent stock shafts on TaylorMade's standard models but still not as good as the TP version so make sure you get fitted for the correct one for your swing.

Overall the TaylorMade RBZ RocketBallz Driver is a very good club and one we would recommend.

Golfalot Rating: 5 stars
Overall Rating - 4 stars:
More from TaylorMade
Share:

Videos

Gallery

TaylorMade RocketBallz Driver - Product Details

Launch UK03 February 2012
Launch USA03 February 2012
Handicap Range
Low
High
GolferMens
Hand AvailabilityLeft, Right
Left Handed Lofts9.5°, 10.5°, 12°
Right Handed Lofts9.5°, 10.5°, 12°
MaterialTitanium
Shaft TypesGraphite
Shaft FlexStiff, Regular, Light, Ladies
Manufacturer's WebsiteTaylorMade Website

User Reviews

GreigB
December 2012

Excellent driver. Originally had my eyes set on the Cobra AMP but after testing both on the computer, the RocketBallz was the clear winner for me.

The adjustable technology has helped correct my slice and I am also hitting it longer, even on off centre hits. Great looking club that has built confidence at address, would highly recommend as the club really works for my game and is a very good price.

Bought the 3-wood version a few weeks later as well!

leebled
December 2012

Having struggled for years off the tee I have always been on the hunt for a driver I could feel confident with.

I bought the burner 2.0 when it was released, and in my opinion it was horrendous. The shaft seemed far to "whippy" and I felt I had no control of the club head.When RBZ was released I had read that the shaft was far better and so I traded up.

What a difference, it was like chalk and cheese. The club head seems so easy to control during the swing, and along with the more traditional shaped head, the RBZ just seems better in every way (it even has a sensible grip rather than a slippy Winn grip like the burner).

I cannot say whether there is a difference in distance due to the fact that I couldn't hit the burner straight, but the RBZ has been consistently straighter. Try it!

golfmanuk2012
December 2012

Being fairly new to golf it was hard to decide which driver to choose but after hitting a few I decided on the RBZ I found it forgiving and that I could hit it balls considerably further than I could other similar drivers.

I like the subtle look and having a large head gives you confidence at address lets hope it keeps helping me improve in the future!!

patrickc90
December 2012

Decent club! I wouldn't recommend this to most people. Yes you do add distance with it but what you loose is accuracy. I would rather be 10 yards shorter and in the fairway compared to in the woods. That's why I would recommend the r11 or r11s if you want to stay with TaylorMade!

Russco30
December 2012

Great driver! I previously owned an R7 Draw which I hit well but took a risk and thought it was time for a change. The Rocketballz is a revelation to my game, I am hitting it longer and straighter than ever before. The forgiveness in the Rocketballz is a delight to a 16 Hcp golfer like myself, my fairway % off the tee has gone from 38% to 52% and my Hcp has dropped 2 from 18 when I bought the Rocketballz in July 2012. The black face is a great guage as to where you are connecting with the ball as it leaves an inprint of the ball on contact. Since I have owned the Rocketballz, 3 of the society golfers that I play with monthly have bought a Rocketballz based on my recommendation and nobody wants to swap back. Great Driver for a reasonable price. TaylorMade, please dont bring out another version of the Rocketballz for some time, it can't get any better!

Write a Review

Sign In or Register to post a review.

Media Reviews

Golf World
March 2012
We like the short shaft..can't mis-hit it

Facebook Comments