Martin Hopley
By

The TaylorMade Rescue 2009 builds on the impact made by the introduction of the original Rescue Mid club.

The Rescue 2009 features a compact clubhead and a redesigned sole to make playing shots from both the fairway and the rough much easier while the centre of gravity has been lowered to increase both forgiveness and workability.

As fans of the original Rescue Mid we were certainly keen to try the Rescue 2009 and we were not disappointed. The face of the club has been squared off slightly but it retains a confidence building traditional look at address.

We found it very forgiving on mishits while also delivering excellent distance and a consistent ball flight and it was very versatile from all parts of the course.

Providing a high level of workability as well as added length and forgiveness the TaylorMade Rescue 2009 is certainly a worthy successor to the Rescue Mid and will appeal to golfers of all abilities.

The Rescue 2009 is also available in a TP version that comes with a very impressive Aldila Voodoo shaft that make an already very impressive club even better and we would certainly not hesitate to pay the slightly higher price tag that the TP version carries.

Forgiving and with excellent ball flight the Rescue 2009 is a fine addition to your bag.

Golfalot Rating: 5 stars
Overall Rating - 5 stars:
More from TaylorMade
Share:

Videos

Picture

TaylorMade Rescue 2009 Hybrid

TaylorMade Rescue 2009 Hybrid - Product Details

Launch UK01 May 2009
Launch USA01 May 2009
Handicap Range
Low
High
GolferMens
Hand AvailabilityLeft, Right
MaterialSteel
Shaft TypesGraphite
Shaft FlexStiff, Regular, Light
Manufacturer's WebsiteTaylorMade Website

User Reviews

Pandora58
March 2010

I just got this club today to use instead of my Fairway 5 wood which I simply cannot hit. This club is excellent, I am a high handicap player but this lets me hit it long and straight. Its very forgiving and gives me a lot of confidence, its heavier than the fairway wood and I like that.

Well worth getting if you want a club that does what it says on the tin, rescues you, and if you are like me you need a lot of help getting out of all that trouble you seem to get yourself into.

threeoffthetee
November 2009

I know many reviews are written by people who have a vested interest in the particular product, I can assure you I don't. I started playing regularly about six months ago and have been doing OK. The main area of weakness are the 3 and 4 irons. I decided to have a knock with a few hybrids and the Taylormade Rescue 2009 (I had the 4 iron) was streets ahead. I wasn't prepared to pay £129 for a 4 iron but I managed to get a new one for £72!! Anyway, I've just got back from the driving range and it is like cheating. Sure I scuffed a couple but even the mishits went 150-160 yards. Really looking forward to its first outing on the course on Saturday. Hopefully the winds will drop below 35 mph!!

CReid
May 2009

I thought this looked great in the bag and at address. The performance wasn't half bad either. I tested it at the same time as the R9 drivers and fairways and I felt that the Rescue 09 was a fantastic way to round off the R9 range. It's not the heaviest rescue club around but the feel was good and impact sound and feel was top notch. The ball travels well too. Not much to fault here!

James
March 2009

I was lucky enough to try the 09 TaylorMade Rescue and was very impressed by the latest utility/hybrid model from the company who brought us the original rescue mid. It is a good looking club and the slightly square face doesn't look out of place when it is sitting behind the ball. As with all rescues it is the performance on those longer shots that matters and this club certainly delivers with an incredibly solid feel and sound at impact that consistently delivered a strong, penetrating flight. Even on those slight miscues this club still performed impressively and although it was not as workable as the Titleist 909H it is a utility club that should be considered by all levels of player.

Write a Review

Sign In or Register to post a review.

Media Reviews

Today's Golfer
August 2010
Excellent distance and dispersion stats..confidence over every shot.
Golf World
March 2010
Very forgiving, confidence levels have grown, reliable off tee.
Golf Monthly
March 2010
Head shape achieves perfect combination..one of more workable hybrids.
Golf World
March 2010
With so many fairway-like hybrid, this takes us back.
Today's Golfer
October 2009
Cosmetically very good..my favourite club on test.
Today's Golfer
September 2009
High marks for looks, rough and forgiveness..easy to hit.
Golf Punk
April 2009
Going back to basics..back towards original curved Rescure Mids.
National Club Golfer
May 2009
Unusual shape..very light..sends the ball into orbit.
Golf Monthly
May 2009
Feels comfortable..plenty of forgivness..shape, graphics fit perfectly.

Facebook Comments