Martin Hopley
By

The TaylorMade R7 Quad driver is the first in the line of what we think will be the future of all clubs, namely adjustable weights.

We tried this driver in a variety of weight combinations and the flight of the shots did vary accordingly so it can be set up to suit any swing.

Don't get us wrong, it won't correct your swing faults - you still need a coach for that - but it will lower or raise your ball flight, or create a slight draw or fade, depending on what you are looking for.

Obviously if you are happy with the standard setting then you may not need all this versatility. However you are still left with a very competent club that looks good, sounds good and is very easy to hit.

The 410cc head looks small at address compared to the maximum 460cc clubs on the market, but that does not affect performance and may be more appealing to the eye of some players.

There is a good range of standard and custom shafts for the R7 Quad and we would recommend shaft custom fitting for what will be a healthy investment in one club.

However it looks great and if money is no object then we think the TaylorMade R7 Quad driver is the best in the market.

Tip though - check for conforming versions which have 'R7' on the top left of the face. Non-conforming versions have 'Max' instead, but are rarely found in the UK.

Golfalot Rating: 5 stars
Overall Rating - 5 stars:
More from TaylorMade
Share:

Picture

TaylorMade r7 Quad Driver

TaylorMade r7 Quad Driver - Product Details

Launch UK15 June 2004
Handicap Range
Low
High
GolferMens
Hand AvailabilityLeft, Right
Left Handed Lofts7.5°, 8.5°, 9.5°, 10.5°
Right Handed Lofts7.5°, 8.5°, 9.5°, 10.5°
MaterialTitanium
Shaft TypesGraphite
Shaft FlexX Stiff, Stiff, Regular, Light
Manufacturer's WebsiteTaylorMade Website

User Reviews

ian glass
October 2007

The TaylorMade r7 Quad driver is a great club. I played with my son before I got it and shot 89. I took out the r7 Quad and carded a 76. The club is for mid handicappers and you don't need to alter the weights. This club I found ideal for me because as you get older and stiffer and unable to turn in swing as much!! . It's a bit like using sticks against rockets.

Aron Clement
May 2007

The TaylorMade R7 Quad is one of the most forgiving on the not so sweet hits and added 10-20 yards to my drives. I strongly recommend this driver to any and all golfers. I had the Callaway Big Bertha Titanium 454 for a while and the R7 is much more forgiving than the Big Bertha will ever be. TaylorMade hit the nail right on the head with this one.

Liam Liam
November 2006

Only reason why I didn't give the TaylorMade R7 Quad driver a 10 is because no driver should get a 10 unless it hits the ball for you!!!

Liam Liam
November 2006

Boss driver, recommended, is one of the best on the market at the moment. I prefer to the new TaylorMade R7 line e.g. R7 460, R7 425.

mark dawson
July 2006

The TaylorMade R7 Quad is the best looking TaylorMade driver. It goes a long way and the TLC is cool at first but the weights rattle after a while and it becomes a bit of a pain.

John Shaw
May 2006

Made a classic mistake. Have been using a 9.5 Taylormade 320 with TM Lite Stiff Shaft to good effect for a few years. How could I go wrong, order a TaylorMade 9.5 degree R7 Quad driver with the Fujikura Stiff Shaft on the internet, a reasonable theory. Well, it goes like this.....I just didn't get on with it very well, it looks good, sets up well, shaft's fine (if possibly a touch stiffer feeling than the Taylormade Lite). The good shots are very good, but I didn't find it very forgiving. Possibly too much club for my limited ability. I started fiddling about with the weights, even buying some extras, what a pandoras box that turned out to be. Was it the swing, was it the club, was it the weight set up, I really tied myself up in knots and started hitting the ball, not swinging the club, my scores went through the roof and hit the 100 for the first time in years. I'm using my TaylorMade 200 Series, 2 wood at the moment and playing to my handicap, also taking the route that I should have started with, computer analysis of various clubs & shafts, followed by trial on the range. Looks likely it'll either be the Titleist 90T or the Ping G5 that comes out best for me, make sure you can handle the R7 before buying.

Drew Tuck
May 2005

Nice looking club that sits behind the ball well. The TaylorMade R7 Quad driver definitely gives you a penetrating flight which is what I was looking for. Not as forgiving as I would thought but is a driver I would consider.

Robert Ganpatsingh
May 2005

I have been looking for a driver this good for years. The set up on the Taylor Made R7 Quad is great and I love the black colour to the head. The ability to control ball flight is very usefull especially during the round (,as it only takes 1-2 mins to change set up), and yes it really works! Distance is good but not the greatest, I've hit longer drivers. My driver came with a Fujikura Speeder shaft which is very light and strong. Price is a bit steep. The only gripe is the head cover is a git to put on, a zipped headcover would have ben better.

Martin Hopley
April 2005

I tried the TaylorMade R7 Quad with a Pro-Launch shaft in and the weights set up for low flight and it went like a rocket with a great penetrating trajectory. Even with the TaylorMade standard shaft it was excellent. Compared to the big drivers around the R7 head seemed compact but the performance is excellent and it looks cool too. If you can afford it then go for it.

Kamran Khan
June 2004

Got the TaylorMade R7 Quad driver a few days ago and went straight to the course to try it. I did not change any of the settings and what can I say. The TaylorMade R7 Quad is just a great driver, each drive hit the fairway and was straight most of the time. Maybe just a little bit of draw from time to time. Better then the Cleveland 460 I was using before and the slice has gone. It is for low to medium handicappers. The consistent swing means the ball goes on the same flight path each time. The R7 Quad is here to stay and am sure it will be one of the best selling drivers this year. The price tag was heavy but well worth it.

Write a Review

Sign In or Register to post a review.

Media Reviews

Golf Monthly
August 2004
This driver is about more subtle game-enhancing changes.

Facebook Comments