Martin Hopley
By

If drivers were sold on sound alone then the TaylorMade CGB Max driver would be the market leader. The head shape and moveable weights give it a solid and almost explosive sound at impact.

Unfortunately they are sold on looks and performance too. The performance is pretty good too and the CGB Max delivers a strong if slightly high flight, so good if you have a medium to low club head speed.

Whilst the design of the sole looks very futuristic, we are not sold on the triangular head shape, which is similar to the Titleist D1, although it has to be said that this is by far the better club.

Combine that with the colour scheme and you may not be tempted to give this a go, but we would recommend trying it out, especially if you are a mid to high handicapper as the forgiveness across the club face was impressive.

Golfalot Rating: 4 stars
Overall Rating - 4 stars:
More from TaylorMade
Share:

Picture

TaylorMade r7 CGB MAX Driver

TaylorMade r7 CGB MAX Driver - Product Details

Launch UK30 October 2007
Launch USA30 October 2007
Handicap Range
Low
High
GolferMens
Hand AvailabilityLeft, Right
Left Handed Lofts9.5°, 10.5°, 13°
Right Handed Lofts9.5°, 10.5°, 13°
MaterialTitanium
Shaft TypesGraphite
Shaft FlexX Stiff, Stiff, Regular, Light
Manufacturer's WebsiteTaylorMade Website

User Reviews

lerc9151
June 2009

I was using a Ping G2 but wasn't satisfied with this club's performance . Eventually after a great deal of research I settled on the R7 CGB Max as a replacement.With a 9% loft as opposed to the 10% loft on the Ping and using a slightly lower tee height I found that I was hitting the ball a considerable distance further and with the weights set neutral, all shots are a great deal more accurate and all this with seemingly less effort. I let my son have a few hits with the R7 too and he found exactly the same-indeed he was that impressed he bought one too.

Paul
July 2008

The TaylorMade r7 CGB Max is a great driver. Sends the ball high, long and down the middle. I replaced my Ping G2 with this club and couldn't be happier. I have a 9.5 loft with stiff shaft and as the shaft is very light a smooth swing will send the ball miles. If you have a tendency to hit your tee shots with a slight fade this club in the slight draw setting is perfect to straighten your drives and even give you a draw. I recommend this club for people with mid to high handicaps.

Shaw Dow
July 2008

The TaylorMade CGB Max driver sounds good through impact with a solid feel. It gets the ball out there, but it just looks awful. The red/black colour scheme just doesn't work for me and the back of the head looks like someone melted it down and they just kept it. If you can get over the looks it is not that bad a club.

merlan marting
December 2007

The ball jumps off the TaylorMade r7 CGB Max driver on all hits. The carry is longer that I had expected and the launch angle is perfect for me. The shaft feels great and is super fast for a 67 year old man. I can hit it up to 230 to 245 yards and straight. Moving the weights also gave me a chance to move the ball either way.

Write a Review

Sign In or Register to post a review.

Media Reviews

Today's Golfer
A big hitting beast..weight adjustability..very impressive option.
Golf Digest
February 2008
Kooky rear..good balanced weight..leaps off the clubface.
Golf Monthly
March 2008
Consistent performer..went a long way..very high flight.
Golf Monthly
December 2007
Slightly closed..really flew with big hang-time.

Facebook Comments