Martin Hopley
By

The TaylorMade R11 driver really stands out for the matt white finish and we have to say we liked it. It not only looked very striking on the shelf but at address it was very easy to line up and the white head was no more off putting than any other colour. Combined with a classical driver head shape the R11 ticked all the boxes before we got to the business of hitting the ball.

On a visit to the TaylorMade fitting centre at Kingsfield near Edinburgh, we had a chance to play around on a trackman system to find the optimum set up for our swings with the R11 driver and you really do need some form of system like this to accurately measure each setting to find the right one for you.

With 48 set-up combinations available to the golfer any input you can get from the experts to ensure you get the most from this excellent driver the better. The standard Fujikura Blur shaft is a lot better than the standard shafts have been in the past and the sound and feel are excellent too.

The sole plate adjustment does change the face angle quite significantly and you would have to be quite unhappy with your FCT (Flight Control Technology) adjusted face to want to use the sole plate to change this.

It only really works if you ground the club behind the ball first and then take your grip, as otherwise we struggle to see the real benefit of this as the loft and lie are already ‘locked in’ by the hosel adjustment and can’t be independently changed.

We feel it needs more graduated options of less than 2 degrees on the sole plate to make it more usable. TaylorMade say that the main reason for the sole plate adjustment is to give the player more confidence and that in turn will lead to a better swing and more confidence so it will really be up to you whether you find it useful or not.

That said the R11 is a really good driver and we are not surprised to see it selling well. The sound and feel at impact are very good and with all the adjustment options you will find a setting that will improve your drives with the help of an experienced hitter.

If you have an R9, you may not see a lot of performance benefit in changing to the R11 unless you prefer white, but for everyone else this is a must try premium driver if you can afford it.

Golfalot Rating: 5 stars
Overall Rating - 5 stars:
More from TaylorMade
Share:

Videos

Picture

TaylorMade R11 Driver

TaylorMade R11 Driver - Product Details

Launch UK04 February 2011
Launch USA04 February 2011
Handicap Range
Low
High
GolferMens
Hand AvailabilityLeft, Right
Left Handed Lofts9°, 10.5°
Right Handed Lofts9°, 10.5°
MaterialComposite
Shaft TypesGraphite
Shaft FlexX Stiff, Stiff, Regular, Light
Manufacturer's WebsiteTaylorMade Website

User Reviews

Vinny G
October 2011

Mine is more a question than a review, as I had only 1 hit with the R11. Are there any distinct improvements in distance from the R9? I like the look of the driver, but am not sure if it is worth the investment over the R9, which I hit quite well but not as far as my R7 quad, which sadly I gave away to a friend during the honeymoon period with my new R9.

I was also wondering about Andy (16 handicap and 290 off the tee,) surely with that length you should have a lower handicap? Just interested to hear as I have a similar problem at 15 handicap, although 260 is more like the reality for me. Great reviews, thanks.

Golfalot Says: As our review says, there is not much performance benefit with the R11 over the R9. re Andy: Distance isn't everything - ask Luke!

Jamie Kennedy
May 2011

After hearing all the reviews and opinions on the R11, I finally had a chance to hit it on the range.

The white finish is certainly striking and I see it being a fairly 'marmite' feature; you'll either love it or hate it. One thing most golfers will not dislike is the performance. The upgraded shafts make a difference, but the club as a whole was very impressive. It felt light, and felt easy to hit. I was not as big a fan of the white head as others, I am more of a traditionalist, but you cannot dispute the impressive performance.

The moveable weight technology is always impressive in TaylorMade's clubs, and the R11 was the same. I even enjoyed the sole plate adjustability. As a player that tends to set the driver head down before taking my grip, I liked being able to control the way the clubhead sat behind the ball, i.e. open, closed, neutral.

Overall, a high performing driver that is certainly more than a marketing gimmick. Not attractive enough to replace my R9 Supertri, but a worthy sibling.

James
May 2011

The TaylorMade R11 has come onto the market with so much hype that I had to give it a go and I am so glad that I did. Everybody is talking (and others are copying!) about the white look and for me it worked really well. It looked great behind the ball and the contrast with the black face address gives plenty of confidence.

The shape of the R11 is relatively classic - especially compared to the Burner - and the performance is excellent. I had it set in neutral and could move the ball both ways with good distance - the ball really comes nicely from the face.

The only criticism would be the optional settings didn't really seem to make much difference but as it worked so well in neutral this shouldn't be a problem. Definitely on my wish list.

Andy26
January 2011

Just bought myself the R11, 9 degree stiff shaft today and very impressed with it. I was using the Titleist 909 D2 9.5 voodoo stiff before and got a very varied ball flight/distance. Hit the R11 in standard set up (didnt change any of the settings) and got a consistent penetrating ball flight. Although i didnt hit the R11 any longer than my 909, longest drive of around 298 i was carrying the ball about 10 yards longer and was up around 290 alot more consistently than the 909 D2.

I also tried the 910 D2 / D3 models with various shafts in and the R11 again had alot more penetrating ball flight and I was a lot more consistent with it.

All-in-all a great club and by far the easiest driver I have hit to date (and all this from a purist who hates all the technology associated with the R11), but ball flight and distance don't lie!

Write a Review

Sign In or Register to post a review.

Media Reviews

Golf Monthly
April 2011
The adjustable soleplate is a real step forward
Golf World
March 2011
Adjustability easier than any other club..for better players

Facebook Comments