Martin Hopley
By

The Ping Rapture driver is one of the best composite drivers we have tested.

The look and feel of the club is very similar to the excellent Ping G5, but that is where the similarities end. Ping have 'maxxed-out' on all the available technologies for the Rapture range and the driver is no exception.

Due to the lighter head, the face is more forgiving with a higher launch angle and less spin. Certainly it is very easy to hit and makes a more solid, quieter sound than the all titanium G5 driver.

The head design with the titanium lattice below the graphite looks good to us, but after a few hits you don't notice the looks, just the benefits.

The result of this technology means that it is longer, with initial estimates make it around 7 yards longer than the G5. However these extra yards come at a cost as the Ping Rapture will be a premium priced driver, so start saving!

Golfalot Rating: 5 stars
Overall Rating - 4 stars:
More from Ping
Share:

Picture

Ping Rapture Driver

Ping Rapture Driver - Product Details

Launch UK01 September 2006
Handicap Range
Low
High
GolferMens
Hand AvailabilityLeft, Right
Left Handed Lofts9°, 10.5°, 12°
Right Handed Lofts9°, 10.5°, 12°
MaterialComposite
Shaft TypesGraphite
Shaft FlexX Stiff, Stiff, Regular, Light
Manufacturer's WebsitePing Website

User Reviews

Chris Hayter
October 2007

The Ping Rapture is not worth its money in my view. I tried a demo at my golf club as I was considering whether to upgrade my G5 to a Rapture or a G10. The Rapture felt good and flew well and nice and high on well struck drives. However, on off centre hits it felt hard, gave a weak high flight through the air with no forgiveness and a reduction in distance. A nice looking club however, but if you hit a high ball I wouldn't recommend this club. More of a game improvers club I believe for those who are willing to splash out. Certainly I prefer my G10 much more.

Richard page
May 2007

The Ping Rapture driver felt good in the shop and also recorded long carries of approx 270 yards on the shop computer. Other models such as the Calloway FT-5 and the Nike Sumo were coming up a good 10 yards shorter, thus I parted with hard earned £270 and went off to the course. Well what a disappointment. The ball felt sweet of the face and wind assisted it did record good carry, however the trajectory was awful as the ball goes too high and drops almost vertically. I am sure that into the wind the ball came backwards. No penetration at all. I chose a stiff shaft which feels to have far too much lower end kick. Perhaps a good club for those who can't get the ball up in the air, whilst I stand corrected I consider it a dog.

Evan Levy
February 2007

Love the Ping Rapture driver. I have been very inconsistent with my drives the past few months and tried out the demo for a few rounds. I loved it so much that I bought one myself and feel very confident with it in my hands. I love the weight and feel of the club and I have much fewer slices or hooks. I have always been known as a fairly long hitter off the tee, and have drawn more oohs and aahs when I hit the Rapture. I highly recommend.

Cal Clark
September 2006

Wow! I just received the new Ping Rapture driver today and immediately went to the range to give it a try. I have been very pleased with my two year old G2, so I wasn't expecting that much improvement. But...the folks at Ping have really hit on something this time. I was blown away by the length and accuracy of this driver! It took about 5 or 6 swings to "get the feel" of the new club, but then, POW! I was consistently hitting longer and straighter than with the G2. It felt absolutely rock-solid and the ball flight was actually fun to watch. Consequently, it didn't take long to have a small gathering of interested golfers wanting to take a look at this new club. As of today, it hasn't been available anywhere that I could find. Even Golfsmith and Edwin Watts don't have them in stock yet, and show they’re still one or two weeks away from shipping. One of the onlookers even tried to get me to sell him the club on the spot. No dice!

Write a Review

Sign In or Register to post a review.

Media Reviews

Today's Golfer
Powerful and forgiving..looks nice..sounds pure at impact.
Golf World
August 2007
Classic no-nonsense design..trajectory and flight good..reliable performer.
Today's Golfer
May 2007
Feels and sounds really soild at impact..more expensive.
Golf Monthly
January 2007
Good but not exceptional..beautiful looks and sound.

Facebook Comments