Martin Hopley
By

The Ping i15 hybrid completes the i15 range for better players and we were impressed by how Ping’s designers had managed to keep traditional looks while really moving the technology from previous hybrids.

In our tests the relatively large head of the i15 hybrid looked great at address with a thin silver top line and a square face with hardly any offset.

It was very forgiving from shorter grass and semi rough although it didn’t perform as well as in the heavy stuff as the G15, which is a completely different style of hybrid.

The ball trajectory from the Ping i15 was slightly lower than the G15 thanks to the head size and the TFC700 shaft which has less torque then the shaft in the G15 hybrid and therefore is suited to players with higher swing speeds.

This is a hybrid designed to appeal to the better golfers out there and we think that if you’re already a hybrid convert you’ll certainly be happy to put this club in the bag as it provides the convenience, forgiveness and reliability of a hybrid without losing the workability that better golfers require.

Another great club from Ping.

Golfalot Rating: 4 stars
Overall Rating - 4 stars:
More from Ping
Share:

Videos

Picture

Ping i15 Hybrid

Ping i15 Hybrid - Product Details

Launch UK27 July 2009
Launch USA27 July 2009
Handicap Range
Low
High
GolferMens
Hand AvailabilityLeft, Right
MaterialSteel
Shaft TypesGraphite
Shaft FlexStiff, Regular, Light
Manufacturer's WebsitePing Website

User Reviews

James
July 2009

The Ping i15 hybrid completes the set of longer clubs aimed at the better player in this latest release from Ping and like the i15 driver and i15 fairway woods the hybrid does not disappoint. Sticking with a now more traditional hybrid style than they have with the new G15 hybrid the designers have nevertheless packed this club with technology and as soon as you hit it you can tell that it was all worth while. Although not quite as visually stunning and comfortable behind the ball as it’s the serious rival the Titleist 909H (still my favourite hybrid full stop) this looks good and gives the better player the feeling that they can do anything they want with the ball. A great, powerful flight and plenty of forgiveness rounds of the package and in the i15 Ping has produced a very strong contender in the better player hybrid market.

CReid
July 2009

The G15 hybrid rips up the design book and is more iron like than most hybrids. The i15 however sticks to the more wood like design and boasts a quite traditional look. Like all the i15 range this has been developed and designed with lots of feedback from Ping’s tour pro’s and this is the workable hybrid that those players want. It certainly does everything that it promises and I could see some of the better players out there who have resisted hybrids finally cracking and sticking one of these in their bag. But I have to say that I was very far from overwhelmed by the i15 hybrid. The trajectory is good and the performance off the fairway is excellent. I felt it struggled a bit in the rough but that’s maybe not as much of a problem for elite players as it is for me! The problem I found was that the G15 comes from leftfield and really impresses and that leaves the unfussy i15 looking a little staid by comparison. So this is not a club for me. But it’s not really aimed at me and I’m sure better players out there will be quick to fall in love it.

Write a Review

Sign In or Register to post a review.

Media Reviews

Today's Golfer
August 2011
Aimed at better players.. simple, clean, sits slightly open
Golf Monthly
April 2011
Ping's best looking hybrid club.. will appeal to all
Golf World
March 2011
Looks everyone will admire..ball explodes off the face
Today's Golfer
August 2010
Praised flight and feel..performed brilliantly across handicaps.
Golf World
March 2010
Understated look, addresses needs of players who hit hybrids high and left.
Golf Monthly
September 2009
Versatile, powerful, unfussy design..will appeal to good players.

Facebook Comments