Martin Hopley
By

We felt the Ping i10 irons sat a little uneasily as part of the range but we’re delighted to see that the Ping i15 now have their own niche by offering the performance of the S57’s combined with the forgiveness of the G10 range.

When we tried the Ping i15 irons out we immediately noticed that the thicker top line and larger head on the longer irons gave you more confidence at address than the i10s.

We liked the larger progressive head in the long irons, but it would have been nice to see this extended to the short irons, which are the same size as the i10s and a little on the small side for us.

We would recommend augmenting the set with Ping Tour W wedges, particularly if you find the size of the i15 wedge too small. Performance wise the Ping i15 irons were great with a strong penetrating flight and they did seem to go a little further than the equivalent G15 iron.

This could be due to the lower trajectory from these irons and the 1 degree stronger lofts in the shorter irons. Unlike other irons we have tried, we didn’t notice the tungsten weight in the toe, but it still did its job to increase the forgiveness and ombined well with the full cavity badge in the back of the clubhead to give great feel.

Golfalot Rating: 4 stars
Overall Rating - 5 stars:
More from Ping
Share:

Videos

Picture

Ping i15 Iron

Ping i15 Irons - Product Details

Launch UK27 July 2009
Launch USA27 July 2009
Handicap Range
Low
High
GolferMens
Hand AvailabilityLeft, Right
MaterialSteel
Shaft TypesSteel
Shaft FlexStiff, Regular
Set Makeup3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, PW
Manufacturer's WebsitePing Website

User Reviews

leftygofr
September 2009

I have had the i15 irons for nearly a month now and I am really pleased with them. I have been looking for searching for this set of irons for the past two years. I played the Callaway FT irons, but they lacked the feedback that you want from your irons. Then I tried the Ping i10s, but was disappointed with the distance that I lost. I have been playing the Mizuno MP-52irons but at age 57 they didn't give me the forgiveness that I needed. I went back to the i10s and experimented with different shafts and liked them better, but I still weren't what I was looking for. I hit the I15s and immediately fell in love with them. I really like the bigger long irons and the higher ball flight that I have gotten. The mid and short irons are very accurate and the feel is great for a cast iron. I think that Ping has a winner here. I did not get the 3 iron with the set, but have the G10 21* hybrid and have been experimenting with the 24* hybrid instead of the 4iron. I am getting better distance with these than the i10s and more forgiveness than either the i10s or the Mizuno MP-52s. Thank you Ping.

James
July 2009

The new Ping i15 irons are a welcome development to the popular i10 iron and have hit a great balance between serious players’ performance and cavity back forgiveness. With smaller heads and a heavier feel than the G15’s the i15’s sit powerfully behind the ball and you get the impression that they will give better players more control, power and accuracy right through the set. The ball flight was from the longer irons was powerful and even the wedge seemed to penetrate allowing you to really be aggressive with your approaches. The i15’s also scored well on the forgiveness front with slightly more help through club head weighting than the excellent S57’s or some of the Mizuno better player irons with which I feel these irons will end up giving a serious run for their money.

CReid
July 2009

The Ping i15 irons are aimed at better players. I’m not a better player but these clubs were far more welcoming to my dodgy swing and occasional hacks than most better player clubs are. By combining high performance with a decent level of forgiveness is a neat trick and Ping have pulled it off with aplomb. I wouldn’t choose these clubs now but I could certainly see myself graduating to them as my game improved. In fact it says a lot about how good these clubs are that they have certainly inspired me to get to a level where they become my natural choice. And how many golf clubs do you come across that positively foster ambition?

Write a Review

Sign In or Register to post a review.

Media Reviews

Today's Golfer
March 2011
Don't look like a classic blade, but performs brilliantly
Today's Golfer
March 2010
Progressive set, long irons aid forgiveness, shorter irons aid workability.
Today's Golfer
October 2009
Easy to hit and shape..high launching ball flight.
Golf Monthly
September 2009
Solid progression. Long irons genuinely forgiving..high levels of feel.

Facebook Comments