Martin Hopley
By

As we were already impressed by the design and performance of the i15 driver we were pleased to see that Ping’s i15 fairway woods lived up to expectations.

In fact we felt that the fairways, with their more traditional styling on the face and hosel, were maybe slight winners in the appearance stakes. The impact sound and feel of the i15 was excellent and it will certainly appeal to the better golfers out there who feel that the G15’s higher trajectory is not quite for them.

This is due to the excellent TFC700F shaft which has less torque than the TFC149F in the G15 fairway and is therefore better suited to those with higher swing speeds.

The Ping i15 fairway wood is a responsive club with an excellent, penetrating flight and we’d certainly recommend it to skilled golfers who would probably be happy to make the extra investment for the high end performance of the i15 over the G15 which is much more suited to the mid to high handicapper.

Golfalot Rating: 5 stars
Overall Rating - 5 stars:
More from Ping
Share:

Videos

Picture

Ping i15 Fairway Wood

Ping i15 Fairway Wood - Product Details

Launch UK27 July 2009
Launch USA27 July 2009
Handicap Range
Low
High
GolferMens
Hand AvailabilityLeft, Right
MaterialSteel
Shaft TypesGraphite
Shaft FlexStiff, Regular, Light
Manufacturer's WebsitePing Website

User Reviews

James
July 2009

The new Ping i15 3 Wood offers everything a better player is looking for in a fairway metal. Like the i15 driver this is very much aimed at the better player and the club head footprint is noticeably smaller than the easier to hit G15 but if you are confident and are looking for that little bit more in performance then you should certainly give this a go. Sitting beautifully behind the ball the i15 gives a penetrating ball flight that better players will be able to move left and right as well as up and down and get out to an impressive distance. This is one of the better fairway woods on the market this year and for better players it could really help to improve attack and score on the par 5’s

CReid
July 2009

The i15 fairway wood is aimed at the better players out there but I found it far more accessible than the Ping i15 driver. For me it doesn’t match up to the G15 fairway for ease of use and consistency but its not really supposed because the i15s are clubs that I aspire to hit rather than clubs which would particularly help my game. For all that, however, it is reasonably forgiving and the lower trajectory is certainly noticeable. Like all clubs for better players the feeling when you really hit a pure strike is stunning and gives you the merest glimpse of what it must be like to be an elite golfer. Unfortunately you quickly come back to earth and realise you need a club to be more accommodating of your frailties than the i15. All in all, a stunning club that I would heartily recommend to any of my low handicap friends but I would continue to seek solace in the G15!

Write a Review

Sign In or Register to post a review.

Media Reviews

Golf Monthly
April 2011
Overall look is stunning..very workable from the tee
Golf World
March 2011
Surprisingly forgiving and performs well on off-centre hits
Today's Golfer
October 2010
Slightly better off the fairway than the tee..compact.
Golf World
March 2010
Versatile player's wood that mixes MOI with workability.
Golf Monthly
September 2009
Confidence inspiring loft..easy to shape..will win fans.

Facebook Comments