Martin Hopley
By

The Ping G5 driver is a modified version of the Ping G2 driver which we thought was one of the best value for money drivers around.

Cosmetically the Ping G5 driver looks different with an updated design on the sole and a new head cover, both of which look great. However it is the changes you can't see that make the difference with the Ping G5 driver.

The re-positioning of the weight internally, from the crown and face to the sole, gives a club a much more solid feel and sound and sound at impact.

As you are swinging it, you can feel the extra weight in the back of the G5 head launch into the back of the ball giving a great feel of confidence.

The G2 driver was long, but expect to gain another 5 yards or so with the G5 driver due to the reduced spin rate generated by this new head design and we thought the G5 certainly lived up to these claims.

To get the most out of it, tee the ball up as the sweet spot is just above the centre of the club face. We were impressed with the forgiveness and workability as well as the consistency of flight.

The stock PING TFC100D shaft is an impressive standard shaft but you can customise further with an Aldila NV 65 and Grafalloy ProLaunch 65 also available.

A great club just got even better and we still think the Ping G5 driver is one of the best value clubs around.

Golfalot Rating: 5 stars
Overall Rating - 5 stars:
More from Ping
Share:

Picture

Ping G5 Driver

Ping G5 Driver - Product Details

Launch UK01 September 2005
Handicap Range
Low
High
GolferMens
Hand AvailabilityRight
Right Handed Lofts7.5°, 9°, 10.5°, 12°, 13.5°
MaterialTitanium
Shaft TypesGraphite
Shaft FlexX Stiff, Stiff, Regular, Light
Manufacturer's WebsitePing Website

User Reviews

Chris Hayter
October 2007

The Ping G5 driver is a great club. I had my G5 throughout most of the 2007 season and the end of the 2006 season and it brought me loads of success. Pleasing cosmetics, a nice high ball with loads of hang time, forgiveness and excellent feel. I would recommend this club to anybody from a 28 handicapper to a scratch golfer. If you are not willing to spend the £200 on a G10, the G5, despite being a few years old is still an outstanding product and is selling cheaper now with the release of the G10. One of the best drivers I've ever owned and really only marginally inferior to the G10.

David Cooper
June 2007

Oh come on, are you lot paid by Ping. The Ping G5 is a good driver but you need to get used to it. The stuff about length is right, you get reduced backspin and the ball rolls a good way after landing so you do get extra length. It is fairly forgiving, but the feel is not brilliant with the Grafalloy shafts- better with graphite actually. I am working with mine after a disastrous driving round and feel confident for the future, but my friend (G2) has reverted to an older driver to keep the ball on the short stuff so don't expect miracles.

david ross
June 2007

I have had my Ping G5 driver since April 06 and can't see a change for a long while yet. It has 10.5 deg loft and the nv 65 shaft reg flex tipped 1" by Ping. Lovely head shape at address and still haven't managed to sky one with it! The ball flight is just right with 280+ yards possible on a good day. The club also let's me know how well the ball was struck due to plenty of feel as well as forgiveness. My only gripe is the headcover as it doesn't protect the shaft and I have changed mine. I have since bought a matching 3 wood and am just as pleased with that!

william mitchell
August 2006

Bought a Ping G5 driver in May have used it weekly since then. The G5 is very good indeed and is ideal for low handicapper (4). I have increased my distance by 20 yards, plus I am now much more consistant off the tee. I also find it easy to work the ball either way.

MATT HINE
April 2006

Still can't get my head round the Ping G5 Driver!!! I needed to be surgically removed from my Callaway Hawkeye VFT 9 degree driver (don't laugh!) which I had for three years but I am really glad I made the change. I tested many drivers and the Ping G5 is the one that came out on top for me. I tried the 9 and 10.5 degree lofts all with a Graffloy blue stiff shaft and ended up buying the 10.5. Sounds daft but the main reason was I still hit it further than my previous driver but with far greater accuracy so I didn't see the point in getting another 9 degree. It's long, forgiving and exceptionally easy to hit. Another great thing is that if you really do want to open your shoulders you can do so with the confidence that it isn't going to crucify a slightly off centre hit. Great club and well worth the money.

Tom Brookes
February 2006

Bought a G5 Driver Sept last year and from that day on I have loved this club. My driver has gone from being hardly played to my favourite club. I am a high handicap golfer & on the driving I can now compete with my golf buddy who plays off a 8 handicap. It’s a shame the rest of the game lets me down a bit.

Write a Review

Sign In or Register to post a review.

Media Reviews

Today's Golfer
May 2007
Perfect all-rounder..solid performance..reasonable fair price..powerful club.
Golf World
May 2006
Outstanding performance..easy to use..good looks..great choice.

Facebook Comments