Martin Hopley
By

Ping have not been renowned for their drivers, unless you talk to die-hard Ping users, but we think the Ping G2 driver will change that.

We tried the 8.5 degree version with a stiff NV shaft and it looks great, sounds great and goes great. The more 'traditional' head and hosel shape than the TiSi give it a great presence at address and with that 460cc head, a lot of confidence too.

The cosmetics of the head will probably divide opinion, but overall they look very good, despite many interpretations of the line-up graphic on the top of the head.

The green NV shaft (green with envy - get it?) is quite long at 45 inches, but performs excellently if you like a stiffer shaft and the grip was very good and can be custom fitted to suit your size of hand by a Ping retailer.

Hitting the club was a joyous experience with good trajectory and excellent distance. The sound at impact got everyone's attention without being tinny or outrageously noisy for this size of head.

The head cover looked funky and was very easy to get on and off - a rarity among these types of clubs. Ping are onto a winner here with a club that is excellent value for money.

Golfalot Rating: 5 stars
Overall Rating - 5 stars:
More from Ping
Share:

Picture

Ping G2 Driver

Ping G2 Driver - Product Details

Launch UK11 August 2004
Handicap Range
Low
High
GolferMens
Hand AvailabilityRight
Left Handed Lofts7°, 8.5°, 10°, 11.5°
Right Handed Lofts7°, 8.5°, 10°, 11.5°
MaterialTitanium
Shaft TypesGraphite
Shaft FlexX Stiff, Stiff, Regular
Manufacturer's WebsitePing Website

User Reviews

mas mir
July 2005

I just purchased a Ping G2 Driver. This is just a great driver. I was going to purchase Callaway Big Bertha Titanium 454. But a friend of mine recomended the Ping. I have been very happy and since then I have tried the Callaway 454, and that is nice club too, but I am much happier I got the Ping.

Alex Forgan
July 2005

Compared this Ping G2 driver at the driving range with the Callaway 454 driver. The Ping G2 driver has a higher projectory and consistently straighter. Same distance wise, but the straighter drives convinced me to buy Ping G2.

Drew Tuck
January 2005

When you put this Ping G2 driver behind the ball it doesn't look like a Ping. When you hit it you get a good penetrating flight which is what I look for. It sits very well and is also pleasing to the eye. The club is easy to shape and is forgiving on those not so sweet strikes. Not sure about the alignment aid but after a while it did not bother me. For the price and the performance the Ping G2 is definitely a driver to consider.

David Kaye
January 2005

As a 24 handicapper, I needed something that was forgiving. I tested many brands and the Ping G2 was the chosen driver. First round out, I changed from scuffing drives, and missing fairways to smashing 17 out of 18 drives straight down the middle of the fairway!! This club has changed my game, very forgiving, great feel and balance and the ball goes miles!! Very highly recommended. Buy one today!

Martin Hopley
December 2004

I thought this was an excellent driver and I am not usually a Ping fan, but that has changed thanks to the Ping G2 driver. The ball went miles when I hit it and it sounds great and looks great too, apart from maybe the moon graphic on the top of the head. The guys I was playing with liked it though... You can hit it high and low and the NV shaft was very stable. Would have liked the shaft a bit shorter, but with Ping's custom fitting I am sure that is possible. For the money the Ping G2 must be hit before you splash the cash.

Write a Review

Sign In or Register to post a review.

Media Reviews

Golf World
August 2005
Not the longest..but extremely forgiving..loved the looks.
Today's Golfer
June 2005
Solid sound and feel..consistent and accurate..good looking.
Golf World
December 2004
Top-performing..huge titanium head..plenty of distance and forgiveness.

Facebook Comments