Martin Hopley
By

The Ping G15 hybrid is the surprise package of the entire G15 range.

We felt that the G10 hybrid was a solid, dependable club for the mid to high handicappers but the look was not exactly stunning. The G15 hybrid is also going to divide opinion on the looks front, but what is different is that Ping have changed tack from creating a ‘wood’ hybrid to creating an ‘iron’ hybrid.

Across the board long irons are being replaced due to the popularity of hybrids so Ping have created a long iron replacement hybrid that looks to us like the built up irons that hybrids started out as before the wood style took over.

Right from the first swing, we really liked G15 hybrid as it really puts a smile on your face. The feel and sound at impact was great and getting the ball out there was effortless from on and off the fairway.

The looks will not be everyone’s cup of tea and the offset is quite large, but this is a club for all golfers and we think even better players will be tempted by the lower lofted versions of the Ping G15 hybrid. And, with five lofts to choose from, we can certainly imagine golfers putting more than one of the G15 hybrids in their bag to replace those hard to hit irons.

A great innovation in the hybrid market from Ping.

Golfalot Rating: 5 stars
Overall Rating - 4 stars:
More from Ping
Share:

Videos

Picture

Ping G15 Hybrid

Ping G15 Hybrid - Product Details

Launch UK27 July 2009
Launch USA27 July 2009
Handicap Range
Low
High
GolferMens
Hand AvailabilityRight
MaterialSteel
Shaft TypesGraphite
Shaft FlexStiff, Regular, Light
Manufacturer's WebsitePing Website

User Reviews

James
July 2009

This is the real left field entry in the new G15 suite of clubs and one that will surely cause the most debate. For the G15 hybrid Ping have moved away from what is becoming the standard rescue club look and configuration back towards something that looks much more like the driving irons of the past. For me it was a big step visually and I am still not sure if the look suits me eye but what cannot be doubted is the performance it gives, especially for those who struggle to hit the longer clubs in the bag. Noticeably heavy it provides a reassuring weight behind the shot that promises to maintain plenty of length and to give the club the impetus to deal with all lies. Extremely easy to hit it seemingly went long and straight whatever the situation and will quickly become a winner with a lot of players looking for the solution to this area of their games.

CReid
July 2009

This is the pick of the G15 bunch for me. It looks a little strange because it has been inspired much more by irons than by woods – which shows Ping are quite prepared to break ranks with the general orthodoxy of hybrid design. The ball really travels from this little gem and it is also particularly forgiving. The iron like shape also means that it whips through the long stuff much better than many more wood like hybrids. I’m sure some people won’t like the shape – and it maybe does jar slightly in what is essentially a traditional looking G15 range – but overcome that and give it a try. Because the moment the first shot zips of the face and follows a sweet trajectory to the target you’ll be hooked!

Write a Review

Sign In or Register to post a review.

Media Reviews

Golf Monthly
April 2011
Plenty of loft options..unusual shape's a little off-putting
Golf World
March 2011
Swings like an iron, flys like a fairway wood
Today's Golfer
August 2010
Looks not uniformly popular..performed superbly well.
Golf World
July 2010
If you're a mid handicapper this could be for you.
Today's Golfer
March 2010
Like Emile Heskey, not subtle but gets the job done.
Golf Monthly
March 2010
It just screamed 'hit me!' Hit the ball straight
Golf World
March 2010
Good choice for diggers and high spinners..penetrating.
Today's Golfer
October 2009
Looks like a driving iron..feel, ball flight fantastic.
Golf Monthly
October 2009
Extremely impressive forgiveness..iron like..not overly chunky.
Today's Golfer
September 2009
Did not disappoint..you expect it to be top notch, it delivers!
Today's Golfer
September 2009
Looks more like an iron at address..forgiveness is bonus.

Facebook Comments