Martin Hopley
By

The Ping G15 Irons are certainly a case of evolution not revolution and Ping have not forgotten the traits that made the G10 irons so appealing to so many people.

We liked the G10 irons and we were hopeful that the G15 irons would be even better. And we certainly weren’t disappointed.

In our tests the G15 irons were a delight to hit. They were very forgiving right across the face and the full cavity graphics badge did its job in enhancing the feel and sound of the club at impact.

For mid to high handicappers these clubs are ideal and are available in sets from 3 iron through to sand wedge. The longer irons were actually very easy to hit well and consistently but if you’re still not convinced then slipping one or two of the excellent G15 hybrid clubs in to your bag will give the golfer seeking to improve their game a very forgiving set of clubs at their disposal.

Golfalot Rating: 5 stars
Overall Rating - 5 stars:
More from Ping
Share:

Videos

Picture

Ping G15 Iron

Ping G15 Irons - Product Details

Launch UK27 July 2009
Launch USA27 July 2009
Handicap Range
Low
High
GolferMens
Hand AvailabilityRight
MaterialSteel
Shaft TypesSteel, Graphite
Shaft FlexStiff, Regular, Light
Set Makeup3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, PW, SW
Manufacturer's WebsitePing Website

User Reviews

Chris burns
November 2012

Firstly let me say one thing, ignore what you might read about the way these irons look, once you've hit them the looks will be the last thing on your mind!

Ping has a reputation for producing irons that do the job, be it for pros like Lee Westwood or regular golfers like me. The G15 irons are for guys like me (although they have been spotted in the bags of several tour pros), I need a bit of help getting the ball in the air and help on off center strikes. Good strikes with the G15 irons are rewarded with a soaring ball flight and ample distance, off center strikes are also rewarded with a minimal drop off in distance, in fact I've looked at my club several times expecting a mark in the center of the face, only to find it towards the toe or heel!

At the end of the day a round of golf is about having fun, if you can get away with a less than perfect swing, then that has to be a good a thing. The G15 irons allow you to enjoy the game by not being punished for slight mistakes, sure, you will still slice the ball, you will still hook the ball. But if you put a decent swing on the ball you will be rewarded.

With that in mind it's easy to come to terms with the fact you aren't playing a highly chromed blade iron, in fact, when your ball is flying towards the green an a par 3, the looks of the club are the last thing on your mind!

starjr
August 2009

WOW - came from Titleist DCI's from 1994 so these are a huge improvement. Using maroon dot, regular shaft. These irons are solid and well built. Nothing hit fat and only a few hit thin and normally write at the target. While they have a large top line and overall head size, they are weighted very well and I like the heavy head feel. They look great and the sound of the ball coming off the face is crisp and solid. I am impressed so far and very happy I bought these irons after looking at a number of irons and manufacturers - all in the same GI or golf improvement category as well as some blades.

James
July 2009

The new G15 irons represent another solid step forward in game improvement technology from Ping. Following on the heels of the record breaking G10’s the G15’s are a very forgiving, easy to hit iron, aimed at those players looking for a little bit more forgiveness from their clubs, especially in the longer irons. Due to the nature of the club they are not for me visually, especially the longer irons, but forgiveness across the club face could not be faulted and if consistency of strike is something that concerns you about your game then these irons will give you all the support you need. Made with classic Ping attention to detail the clubs felt surprisingly soft for a game improvement iron and could not be criticised for the feel and feedback you receive. If you are looking for an iron in this market then you will certainly consider the G15 and it will be no surprises if they go on to surpass the success of their record breaking predecessor.

CReid
July 2009

Take the market leading G10 irons and make them better. Mission accomplished. Ping have really brought in some great changes with the G15 irons that should see them become as wildly popular as the bestselling G10 irons were. There is an immediately noticeable improvement in both feel and forgiveness and they are easy to hit through the set. If you do struggle a bit with the longer irons then bringing in one of the top notch G15 hybrids should do the trick. When you’re looking to improve your game then consistency is hugely important. The G15 irons with their forgiveness and steady trajectory should go a long, long way to providing that consistency to help you get better.

Write a Review

Sign In or Register to post a review.

Media Reviews

Today's Golfer
July 2011
One of the most forgiving irons out there
Today's Golfer
January 2011
Very good, with a soaring ball flight
Golf World
March 2011
Simple-but-smart..best custom fitting options in golf
Today's Golfer
March 2010
Superb. One of the most forgiving irons on the market.
Golf World
March 2010
Comes with an autopilot that mitigates operator error.
Today's Golfer
October 2009
Simplicity at its best..G10's were superb - these are better!
Golf Monthly
October 2009
Top quality game improving irons..hard from tight lies.
Today's Golfer
September 2009
Incredibly, more forgiving than G10s! Pretty hard to mishit.

Facebook Comments