Martin Hopley
By

Far from resting on their laurels Ping have managed to improve the new G15 driver with some excellent developments.

As big fans of the G10 version we couldn’t wait to take the Ping G15 driver to the range to see if the changes had had the desired affect and we weren’t disappointed.

At address you can see the G15’s longer head design and it looks great with the new alignment aid first used in the Rapture wood and which thankfully replaces the moon graphic from previous G2 and G5 drivers.

The feel and forgiveness of the Ping G15 is excellent and the club feels a little more alive and more explosive than the G10. Ping’s G15 driver is a worthy successor to the G10 and it has certainly raised the bar.

Golfalot Rating: 5 stars
Overall Rating - 5 stars:
More from Ping
Share:

Videos

Picture

Ping G15 Driver

Ping G15 Driver - Product Details

Launch UK27 July 2009
Launch USA27 July 2009
Handicap Range
Low
High
GolferMens
Hand AvailabilityRight
Right Handed Lofts9°, 10.5°, 12°, 13.5°
MaterialTitanium
Shaft TypesGraphite
Manufacturer's WebsitePing Website

User Reviews

Alan Erickson
June 2011

The very best driver I've owned and I make a serious hobby of burying and trying drivers and then selling them. It is hard for me to get anything but a straight drive with the G15. Occasionally I will push a drive and yet this driver saves me more often than not by keeping me in or near the short grass. I know how other club manufacturers build forgiveness but the Ping G15 simply and beautifully, without wrenches and weights and other doodads, corrects my swing errors and puts me in the fairway. I am thinking of buying a second G15 before this model is phased out. The K15, newest Ping driver, does not come close to the G15 for forgiveness and distance.

Dan P
August 2010

Absolutely fabulous piece of kit. Went to American golf as I was getting too much of a high launch with my driver (Taylor Made Burner Superfast) to get fitted for a new driver. After them telling me I didn't need to change and disagreeing wiith the "pro" I went to Nevada Bobs, what a difference. They gave me 7 different drivers to try out on their accurate machine. After hitting all of them I went back to the PING G15. I was consistantly hitting a great shape drive with a good launch angle. This driver was around 20-30 yards consistantly longer for me than the Burner and even more against other current drivers too. Definately worth a go, but avoid cardiff american golf as the machine in there is rubbish and will not give you the best read outs!!!

James
July 2009

It is hard to believe that Ping could come up with something to better the rightly popular Ping G10 driver but they have come up trumps with the new G15 – a truly worthy successor. I have been lucky enough to already get to try out the new Ping clubs and I have not been disappointed. A big fan of the G10 I was dubious if I would feel the need to upgrade to this newer version but everything from looks to performance has convinced me that a good club has got even better. The club sits behind the ball very well and is visually confidence building – the half crescent alignment system has been slightly modified in the G15 to look slightly more modern and fit in with then new red colour scheme – giving a solid look to address. The 460cc head still looks like a driver should do (I think it is slightly deeper at the back than the G10) and the club is extremely well balanced. In terms of performance it cannot be faulted – a solid feel and good sound at impact translate into a penetrating and long ball flight with impressive forgiveness on off centre hits.

CReid
July 2009

Having liked the much hyped and wildly popular G10 driver I was very keen to see how Ping had managed the improvements in the G15 version. And straight away you realise they’ve managed very well indeed. This ticks all the boxes when I’m choosing a driver. It goes long and straight when you hit it well and it goes reasonably long and reasonably straight when you don’t hit it so well. The design is quite understated, especially at address (with a much improved alignment aid) which adds to the impression that this is an unfussy bit of kit that will get the job done time and time again. For players in my handicap range this is one of the best drivers I’ve tried for a while. With the G10 having been so popular Ping will have felt the pressure to deliver the goods with this upgrade but they’ve pulled off the trick with something to spare.

Write a Review

Sign In or Register to post a review.

Media Reviews

Golf Monthly
April 2011
One of the best looking drivers around.. big improvement
Today's Golfer
January 2011
Loved on Tour and most courses in the land
Golf Monthly
June 2010
Sits beautifully at address, higher pitches noise at impact.
Today's Golfer
March 2010
An absolutely classic driver. Simplicity, power, style.
Golf World
March 2011
Best example of simply efficiency..easy to hit
Today's Golfer
October 2009
Brilliantly forgiving at a good price..little to dislike.
Golf Monthly
Some big changes..sits well..improvements in forgiveness levels.
Today's Golfer
September 2009
Results were impressive..great stability..better results on mishits.

Facebook Comments