Martin Hopley
By

The market leading G5 driver was a hard act to follow, but with the Ping G10 driver we think Ping have managed to improve the best even more.

The first thing you notice is that the head is deeper front to back and also taller. This has been achieved by some jiggery-pockery in the design to stay within the 460cc limit and it gives you immense confidence at address.

The love-it-or-hate-it crescent on the crown is a even more subtle than before and the new colour scheme looks very good.

Performance is what it is all about though and the new G10 driver delivers big time. With the weight a little further back it gets the ball airborne with low spin on a great trajectory.

Compared to the G5 it is slightly lower and certainly much lower than the G2 but it is a pleasure to hit and gives you a great sense of distance and control.

There is a new range of shafts with the G10 and we found the standard TFC129 that Ping has designed for them to be very good, but as always make sure you get custom fitted.

If you are in the market for a driver, then you won't go far wrong if you choose the Ping G10.

Golfalot Rating: 5 stars
Overall Rating - 5 stars:
More from Ping
Share:

Videos

Picture

Ping G10 Driver

Ping G10 Driver - Product Details

Launch UK01 September 2007
Handicap Range
Low
High
GolferMens
Hand AvailabilityLeft, Right
Left Handed Lofts7.5°, 9°, 10.5°, 12°, 13.5°
Right Handed Lofts7.5°, 9°, 10.5°, 12°, 13.5°
MaterialComposite
Shaft TypesGraphite
Shaft FlexX Stiff, Stiff, Regular, Light
Manufacturer's WebsitePing Website

User Reviews

Mike
October 2009

What a corker! I was a little worried that I had spent the money I did on this club but having hit some cracking straight drives that soon fades into insignificance. One of the best sounds from a driver that I have heard, club looks good at address and inspires confidence with it's large 460cc head. I would certainly recommend this club to any mid to high handicap golfer looking to enjoy consistent good yardage with nice forgiveness......worth every penny.

James
June 2008

The Ping G10 is a visually appealing driver and I certainly found it had the performance to match. The G10 head has a classic feel to its shape, a good looking colour scheme and the toned down alignment aid worked well for me. It is the sort of driver that makes you exude confidence when it is sits behind the ball. It gave a satisfyingly solid strike and sound at impact and delivered a penetrating, consistent and long ball flight. I did find that I lost distance on off-centre hits although accuracy was not greatly affected.

Grant Booth
April 2008

I've struggled for consistency in driving for some time and after trying a number of different drivers from TaylorMade, Titleist, and Callaway I concluded the variance was primarily my swing mechanics than the equipment. Applying some excellent pointers from my swing instructor I was finally able to drive the middle with consistency and could then make an objective valuation of different drivers. I have been impressed with what I have read on the Ping G10's performance and Ping's application of a Cray computer to optimize the total design. It shows for me on the range and the course. This is easily the most consistent and forgiving driver I have ever played. Spend your time and money on swing improvement before you waste any on the so called super game improvement rubbish and then buy this club.

Andy Clarke
March 2008

I have tried and been fitted for a lot of drivers in the past year...Cleveland HiBore, Titleist, Mizuno MP-600, Cobra etc. The Ping G10 is not the longest (HiBore XL Tour) but it feels the best and is more consistent and forgiving of my bad swings than the others. It makes no silly noises and gives a good feed back from the face. I have cut it down to 45 1/4 inches (still 1/4 inch longer than everybody else’s standard) which improved consistency even more. A real pleasure to play with.

Mark Jeffrey
March 2008

I updated my R7 Draw regular for the Ping G10 stiff shaft and I am loving it. The face sits higher than the R7 so it took a few swings to get used to the size of it but from there I haven’t looked back. The ball flies off the face with a beautiful sound with a penetrating ball flight. It’s heavier than the R7. All in all, a great club.

Andrew Walker
March 2008

As my Cobra is now illegal it was time for a change. I was desperate to buy the Mizuno MP600 but decided to allow common sense to prevail. I tried the MP600 but got on better with the MX560 - bugger. Then I blasted the Taylor Made Burner down the middle of the range - if only it hadn't got that awful carbuncle on top of the club head (and it sits a little "closed" on the deck). I then tried the Ping G10. WOW - feel and performance at a reasonable price. Opted for the UST shaft as it gave me a little more height. Conclusion - custom fitting is a must.

John Lowdon
February 2008

I had a Cobra driver which became illegal in Jan 08. Tried the TaylorMade r7 and the Ping G10 on the range and didn't really detect much difference. As I had to buy something I went for the Ping as I already have the irons. The first few rounds have been great. I am a reasonably straight hitter mostly with a slight draw on occasions and a wild hook once or twice a round. With the Ping they are nearly all going straight (no wild hooks yet) and I find I am hitting the ball harder as my confidence grows. I don't think it is longer per se but because I am more confident it will land on the fairway and am hitting harder I am getting a few more yards.

Chris Hayter
October 2007

I think the Ping G10 driver is certainly a step up from the G5 and better than the Rapture. I have just bought a G10 and updated from the G5. Like in my old G5 I have a 9 degree stiff shafted, with a prolaunch red. The Ping G10 certainly sends the ball higher than the G5 and would be great for those who struggle to get the ball airborne. The feel off the face is more positive and the flight a little more powerful as opposed to the more floating flight of the G5. I reckon I’ve gained about 7 yards off the tee with the G10 compared to the G5 with good strikes from both. Cosmetically it’s pleasing but the moon is more discrete, however this is great for alignment. In my opinion, a good upgrade over the G5 and outstanding value for money

Drew Tuck
August 2007

Didn't think it did much more than the original G5 and I'm not a fan of the alignment aid on the top. The ball does come of the club face well and you do get a long hang time, but the flight is not that penetrating. Over all I was a little disappointed with the club. Will stick to my Titleist.

Write a Review

Sign In or Register to post a review.

Media Reviews

National Club Golfer
February 2010
Still among the best. Classy, reliable, appeals to all.
Golf International
July 2009
Good looking stick straight out of Ping's top drawer.
Today's Golfer
June 2009
A strong, forgiving all rounder at a good price.
Golf Monthly
May 2009
One of the best performing, best value drivers..forgiving.
Today's Golfer
March 2009
Stunning, an instant hit..phenomenoal distance and gorgeous looks.
Today's Golfer
Explosive power..most consistent..five star rating..terrific value.
Golf Digest
February 2008
Near-perfect forgiveness..you will hit it high.
Golf Monthly
January 2008
Fantastic for working the ball but provided less forgiveness.
Golf Monthly
October 2007
Feels powerful..gets the ball out there..performed well.
Today's Golfer
Wider body..looks powerful..sounds solid at impact.

Facebook Comments