Martin Hopley
By

The Mizuno MX-700 Driver is the much anticipated successor to the MX-560.

The Hot Metal Ti-9 Titanium face expands the high COR area to deliver consistently long drives on even off centre hits. The Hot Metal technology has also lowered the centre of gravity and increased ball speed to produce lower spin and a higher, more penetrating ball flight.

The reinforced internal hull of the driver helps to dampen vibration which Mizuno say means the odd sound of the MX-560 is gone to be replaced by a sweet sounding thump at impact.

The MX-700 driver is certainly easy to hit and even higher handicappers will find they can achieve consistent distance and direction off the tee. The club doesn't feel too big at address but the clubface remains big enough to inspire confidence on every tee.

The feel at impact is powerful and solid on even off centre hits and the sound is pleasingly strong without being loud enough to turn heads on adjoining holes.

With four different lofts available better players might want to go lower down the scale while the higher handicapper will be more comfortable with a more generous loft. In our opinion the MX-700 driver delivers a much more reliable performance than many more expensive drivers and with Mizuno ditching their traditional blue in favour of a yellow and black theme it looks great as well.

Golfalot Rating: 5 stars
Overall Rating - 5 stars:
More from Mizuno
Share:

Videos

Picture

Mizuno MX-700 Driver

Mizuno MX-700 Driver - Product Details

Launch UK15 February 2009
Launch USA15 February 2009
Handicap Range
Low
High
GolferMens
Hand AvailabilityLeft, Right
Left Handed Lofts9.5°, 10.5°
Right Handed Lofts9.5°, 10.5°, 12°
MaterialTitanium
Shaft TypesGraphite
Shaft FlexStiff, Regular
Manufacturer's WebsiteMizuno Website

User Reviews

Paul Pugh
April 2010

I've always struggled with drivers. I must have spent a fortune buying and trading in different drivers. I am a converted user of Mizuno Irons (MP52s now) and have been for about 7 years (MX23s previously) but they've never had a particularly good reputation with woods. I reluctantly tried the driver when trying out several drivers at the local driving range and was dumbfounded by the results.

I am now hitting every single drive around 270 yards down the middle every single time using this driver. My handicap has come down 4 shots since using it as I was previously having good and not so good rounds always as a result of inconsistent drives. They are now much longer (now 270 yards on average whereas previously 230-240) and straight down the middle every single time - hence my scores are now consistently in the single figures area and I haven't had a bad round since using it.

I also have the 3 wood and the 20 degree hybrid and both of these clubs, likewise, are excellent additions to the bag - especially the 3 ood as I have always struggled to hit woods. This is great. Long and straight.

One point I will say to consider. My swing speed is right on the cusp of regular vs stiff shafts (around 90-95mph I think) and I went with a stiff shaft over regular. My understanding is that the exsar shaft I'm using is a kind of "soft stiff" one and this seems to suit me brilliantly.

Certainly worth looking at if you are considering a new driver. Personally, I'm chuffed to bits with it.

Pandora58
March 2010

I have had this driver for six months and its really forgiving, and when I actually manage to hit it properly it is long and straight. Any failing in this department are down to me and not the club. Not so sure about the noise it makes but you can't have everything.

CReid
March 2009

I’m aware that Mizuno have a poor reputation for woods and this is one of the first Mizuno drivers I have ever given proper consideration to. And if this is indeed their attempt to relaunch themselves in the driver market then it is a spectacular success. I often struggle off the tee and have been working on that over the winter but even then I was amazed at the results the Mizuno MX-700 produced (probably not quite as amazed as my playing partners). Forgiving, long and straight – what else could you want from a driver! Definitely staying in the bag!

Write a Review

Sign In or Register to post a review.

Media Reviews

Today's Golfer
January 2011
Incredibly long..unlike previous models, it also sounds great
National Club Golfer
December 2009
Pleasing acoustics..all round appeal..forgiving nature another plus.
Today's Golfer
October 2009
Confidence at address..high ball flight with good distance.
Golf Monthly
August 2009
Nice feel..graphics and shape work brilliantly together.
Today's Golfer
June 2009
Stunning performance..long, booming drives..is a fantastic package.
Golf Monthly
May 2009
Sits squarely, looks great..sounds lively..high, straight flight.
Today's Golfer
March 2009
Ball flight is fantastic..you really can't go wrong.

Facebook Comments