Martin Hopley
By

When we got the Mizuno MP-58 irons on the range, we immediately noticed that the MP-58s have a much thinner sole and topline than the old MP-57 model and Mizuno say this modification has enhanced forgiveness by keeping the centre of gravity close to the clubface.

The new design of the MP-58 Ti Muscle performed very well, although if we had to be picky, the feel was not quite as good with the multi-material head as with a 100% forged steel head.

The mid to short irons were lovely to hit, especially the wedge, but the long irons were not quite as forgiving as the shorter irons in the set.

Visually the head of the longer seemed a little shorter relative to the mid irons and if this is a concern for you then you can easily replace the long irons with the MP Fli-Hi or the MX300 long irons instead.

Overall though this is a great iron for those who want a good players irons with a bit more forgiveness than a blade.

Golfalot Rating: 5 stars
Overall Rating - 5 stars:
More from Mizuno
Share:

Videos

Picture

Mizuno MP-58 Iron

Mizuno MP-58 Irons - Product Details

Launch UK01 September 2009
Launch USA01 September 2009
Handicap Range
Low
High
GolferMens
Hand AvailabilityRight
MaterialComposite
Shaft TypesSteel
Shaft FlexStiff, Regular
Set Makeup3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, PW
Manufacturer's WebsiteMizuno Website

User Reviews

kenscott26
October 2009

I have hit nothing but Mizuno irons since 1997. First with the T-zoid True, then the MP-67s. While I loved the 67s , the MP-58s are a step up in forgiveness and a bit longer, which is exactly what I was looking for. It plays like a blade with the forgiveness traits of a cavity back. I also liked the thin top line of the club. The lofts are 1 degree stronger compared to the 67's but I did not notice a real difference in ball flight, just a little longer. They do have a little bit of a dull feeling compared to the 67s and 68s, but not much. If you like blades/muscle backs, I would highly recommend you give these clubs a chance. The MP-68s were also a step up from the 67s. Guess its all comes down to your preference. Good Luck.

Dan Higgins
October 2009

I purchased the 58's a couple days ago after hitting them, along with the 68's, in the golf store "batting cage" for an hour each on two separate days. Based on the computer in the batting cage I was hitting the 68's as well as the 58's. (Mostly 6 iron.) And the 68's felt GREAT! But, I knew that out on the course when I'm not hitting off a forgiving mat on a flat lie and not hitting ball after ball the results would be much different. So I went with the 58's.

Played with them yesterday very unsure what to expect as I have only been able to play a couple of times this Summer. But they worked great! The feel may not be that of a full on blade but that is the compromise you make for a bit more forgiveness. I also have a PW, 9i and 8i in the 67 model and may work those back into the set next Spring when I am playing more regularly.

I know the golfalot review felt the longer clubs were not as forgiving but I fell in love with the 4i. (I don't use a 3i much as I have a hybrid for that length.) And, yes, they look great. I was a Titleist player for many years and still use Titleist woods and putter. But I switched to Mizuno 2-3 years ago when I bought the 57s (which I sold for $300 to get the 58's) and I really like the Mizuno feel. Now if I could just find wedges that have the Mizuno feel but that are a bit closer in weight to the Vokey's.

Write a Review

Sign In or Register to post a review.

Media Reviews

Today's Golfer
March 2011
They scream class and the performance backs it up
Today's Golfer
March 2010
Penetrating flight but perimeter weighting aids off centre whacks!
Golf World
March 2010
Great feel, great trajectory and more than enough distance.
Golf Monthly
December 2009
Lower cavity badge looked great..wonderful feel.

Facebook Comments