Martin Hopley
By

Well, you're not going to miss the ball with the Mizuno MP-001 driver as this maximum size head gives you every confidence to make a good swing.

The Mizuno MP-001 driver sits perfectly behind the ball and is very forgiving all over the face, as you would expect. We tested the 9.5 degree version with the standard stiff shaft.

Teeing the ball high and hitting on the up like any good launch monitor system tells you to do, sends the ball in a powerful high arc for maximum distance. Teeing the ball low gives a low penetrating flight, although trying to hit the ball off the deck is maybe a step too far.

It is great to see Mizuno fitting a more standard length shaft to these kind of drivers for more control and it performs very well.

The Mizuno MP-001 head looks classy and solid and we particularly like the graphite lattice effect on the top of the head which you can make out in certain lights. Comes with nice padded headcover with zip so no more straining to pull the cover over the head.

Overall a good driver and definitely worth trying out.

Golfalot Rating: 4 stars
Overall Rating - 4 stars:
More from Mizuno
Share:

Picture

Mizuno MP-001 460cc Driver

Mizuno MP-001 460cc Driver - Product Details

Launch UK06 October 2004
Handicap Range
Low
High
GolferMens
Hand AvailabilityRight
Right Handed Lofts8.5°, 9.5°, 10.5°, 11.5°
MaterialComposite
Shaft TypesGraphite
Shaft FlexStiff, Regular, Light
Manufacturer's WebsiteMizuno Website

User Reviews

Tommy Beattie
November 2005

The Mizuno MP-001 460cc is a great driver, especially as it is now available at less than £100.

David Hodgson
November 2004

I found that the club head and shaft of the Mizuno Mp-001 driver felt completely in balance with each other as soon as the first swing. Shot making was very smooth and consistantly penetrating trajectory for this stiff graphite shafted 9.5 degree sample. Very good finish to the head with the composite fibre pattern complimenting the style. The club sat very well when addressed to the ball. Overall this club gave a confidence inspiring performance whether you are a single figure handicapper like myself or higher.

Drew Tuck
November 2004

Was pleasantly surprised by the Mizuno MP-001 driver as I wasn't expecting much, but got a lot in return. The ball comes off the club great and it gives you a high but penetrating flight. Didn't like the chequered design on the top of the club face, thought it was a bit off putting. Also the driver seemed to sit a little shut at address. Other than these two minor faults the club is up there in the best I've hit lately. Definitely one to try.

Martin Hopley
April 2005

This Mizuno MP-001 driver is an excellent driver and compares very well with the more expensive drivers offered by the other big manufacturers. Despite being a big Mizuno iron fan, I had not really given Mizuno woods much cred until I tried this one. If you are the same then get one of these Mizuno MP-001 drivers in your hands. I could hit it high and low and it was very consistent across the face. It looks great too and at under £200 at launch it is going to be hard to beat for value.

Write a Review

Sign In or Register to post a review.

Media Reviews

Golf World
August 2005
Great looking..sat comfortably..performance middle of the road.
Today's Golfer
June 2005
Forgiving..flight pretty low..no sight line..sits well.
Golf Monthly
January 2005
Felt great..flying a long way..degree of lateral inconcistency.
Golf World
December 2004
Larger version..produce a flight with less backspin..penetrating.

Facebook Comments